Best Practices in Mental Health

Write a Review
Best Practices in Mental Health


ISSN 1553-555X (print)
ISSN 2329-5384 (online)
Download Free Issue


Best Practices in Mental Health is a leading, peer-reviewed journal that represents the highest quality scholarship in the field of mental health. Editor Goutham Menon, Phd, MA, MBA is at the helm, curating  new research from recognized experts and leaders on established and emerging best practices to promote effective practices in the field.

BPMH explores priorities set by the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) and the World Health Organization (WHO). By incorporating the latest research and evidence-based strategies, BPMH enhances the understanding and application of global mental health priorities. It is a comprehensive resource for mental health professionals, researchers, policymakers, and stakeholders, offering practical insights and recommendations for promoting mental well-being and addressing the complex challenges individuals and communities face worldwide.

The field of mental health has witnessed significant advancements in recent years, with NIMH and WHO at the forefront of driving global mental health priorities. BPMH brings together key findings and recommendations from scholars and practitioners worldwide, highlighting best practices that are crucial for achieving positive mental health outcomes on a global scale.

 Key areas of focus

Promoting Mental Health Awareness and Education in workforce:

  • Strategies for raising public awareness about mental health to reduce stigma.
  • Effective methods for providing mental health education to diverse populations.
  • Innovative approaches for increasing mental health literacy among healthcare professionals and community leaders.
  • Promoting access and availability through clinical supervision, policy reviews and varying community contexts (eg. rural/urban)

Accessible and Equitable Mental Health Services:

  • Models for improving access to mental health services, especially in under-served communities.
  • Integrated care systems that address the mental health needs of individuals with comorbid conditions.
  • Ensuring equity in the delivery of mental health services, with a focus on vulnerable populations.

Early Intervention and Mitigation

  • Early identification and intervention strategies to minimize the impact of mental health on functional challenges.
  • Approaches / strategies to address health disparities for reducing incidence and prevalence of mental health disorders and promoting resilience.
  • Easy access to interventions for high-risk populations, such as children, adolescents, individuals experiencing trauma, individuals/families displaced due to homelessness, refugees, victims of war and natural disasters.

Integrated & Collaborative Care for better outcomes:

  • Collaborative care models in partnering with mental health professionals, primary care providers, and other care providers for comprehensive care.
  • Integrating mental health services within existing primary healthcare systems to enhance coordination, integration and continuity of care.
  • Partnering with multiple disciplines/professions to address the multifaceted aspects of mental health.


Research and Innovation:

  • Current research trends and innovation in engagement, assessment, treatment, and evaluation in mental health. 
  • Technological advancements and digital/virtual interventions for mental health promotion and support.
  • Evaluating the impact of interventions on individuals, families and communities at large. Efforts in translating research findings into real-world practice.

Instructions to access e-journal at IngentaConnect for individuals and libraries.

Pricing and distribution information:

  • BPMH is published twice a year in the Winter and Summer.
  • One year's subscription is $50.00 for an individual.
  • One year's subscription is $125.00 for libraries and institutions.
  • BPMH is now available as an e-journal hosted by Ingentaconnect.
  • Electronic back issues are accessible through IngentaConnect for the duration of your subscription.
  • Individual articles can be purchased for $12 each and individual back issues for $20 each.
For all subscription or purchasing inquiries please contact us at:
The David Follmer Group
Best Practices in Mental Health 
5758 S. Blackstone Ave
Chicago, IL 60637
773-643-1902 ph
773-643-1903 fx

Best Practices in Mental Health


Professor Goutham Menon

School of Social Work

Loyola University, Chicago

820 N. Michigan Avenue

Chicago, IL 60611



Book Review Editor


A sample of previous papers from the journal:

   A Systematic and Empirical Review of Mindfulness Interventions with Adolescents: A Potential Fit for Delinquency Intervention
Katherine L. Montgomery, Johnny S. Kim, David W. Springer, and Joy A. Learman
  The Full Spectrum: Hispanic Understanding of Autism
Heather Voelkel, Craig W. LeCroy, Lela Rankin Williams, and Jane Holschuh
  When Bambi Meets Godzilla: A Practitioner’s Experience Adopting and Implementing a Manualized Treatment in a Community Mental Health Setting
Jonathan B. Singer and Catherine G. Greeno
  Adolescent Perspectives of Outpatient Mental Health Treatment
Azadeh Masalehdan Block, Christopher D. Gjesfjeld, and Catherine G. Greeno
  Systematic Reviews: Finding the Best Evidence in Mental Health
Joanne Yaffe
Editorial Board


Mary I. Armstrong

Florida Mental Health Institute

Joel Carr

Angelo State University

Monit Cheung
University of Houston

Lena Dominelli
Durham University

Christopher G. Hudson
Salem State University

Jeremiah W. Jaggers
Indiana University-Purdue University of Indianapolis

Sean Joe
Washington University

David Kondrat
Indiana University-Purdue University of Indianapolis

Wynne Sandra Korr
University of Illinois- Urbana- Champaign

Craig Winston LeCroy
Arizona State University

 Marilyn W. Lewis
Norfolk State University

Tess A. Lefmann

The University of Mississippi


David Patterson
University of Tennessee

Mark Ragg
Eastern Michigan University

Jackie Sieppert
University of Calgary

Haluk Soydan
University of Southern California

Karen M. Staller
University of Michigan

Bruce Thyer
Florida State University

Alex Washington
California State University — Long Beach

Elizabeth E. Wilson

Union University